Thursday, January 26, 2012
Those Ad Men...
Posted by Unknown on 12:54 PM with No comments
Wednesday, January 25, 2012
The Dirty Thirty
Posted by Unknown on 1:56 PM with No comments
My oh my, are we getting old. And by we, I mean The Husband, who just turned the dirty thirty. We started off the celebration earlier last week at dinner with The Husband's Uncle Jim & Aunt Liz. We always love hanging out with them and so glad they could come into the city.
The shenanigans and tomfoolery continued on through the weekend. I decided it would be fun to get our friends together for a weekend away in upstate NY. It always takes a lot of planning when trying to get our friends together (we are busy!) so I'm thrilled that it worked out for most of us.
We rented a great house near Windham Mountain and even had some snow Friday night that made for pretty good skiing on Saturday (check out the fashionable ski suit below).
Some of the girls and I stayed back to relax and go antiquing! Yes, we did find some awesome garden stools that I'll be using as a side table (more on that later). Bailey dog tagged along and clocked some good country time in as well.
I made copies of old yearbook photos of the birthday boy and put them up around the house and turn some into masks. He was quite the looker, eh? I think my favorite is the gelled hair.
Thanks to our great friends for coming to celebrate! We loved seeing y'all and are finally fully recovered. Well, almost...
Happy 30th Husband! Love you!
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Friday, January 20, 2012
Father of the Bride - The house
Posted by Unknown on 6:46 AM with No comments
Growing up my favorite movie was "Father of the Bride." I think I've watched it so many times that I could quote every line. "Dad, I met a man in Rome. And he's wonderful and brilliant, and we're getting marriedddd."
I loved the story. The Characters. The house. I loved that house. Do you remember it? As George Banks said, "This house is cool in the summer, warm in the winter and looks spectacular in Christmas lights"
My sister-in-law gave me a subscription to the new HGTV magazine. This magazine is fantastic. I don't remember the last time I read a magazine cover to cover and actually wanted to read all the articles. I typically just thumb through and read what I want but this magazine had me at every page. And no, they aren't paying me to say that.
In the newest issue they interviewed the family who currently calls the "Father of the Bride" house home. Ahh, so jealous. I wish I could link to the article but it's only in print so you'll just have to go and get it. In the article, the wife commented that they feel the pressure to keep the outside of the house in perfect condition since many fans stop by and take photos. Someone actually proposed in front of the white picket fence.
After the couple bought the house a few years back, they decided it was fate and got married in the back yard - just like the movie. Can you imagine being a guest at their wedding?
Happy Friday to all. What are your plans? We are headed to the mountains for some skiing and to celebrate The Husband's 30th! Pictures to come on Monday.
Images from Google.
I loved the story. The Characters. The house. I loved that house. Do you remember it? As George Banks said, "This house is cool in the summer, warm in the winter and looks spectacular in Christmas lights"
![]() |
![]() |
After the couple bought the house a few years back, they decided it was fate and got married in the back yard - just like the movie. Can you imagine being a guest at their wedding?
Happy Friday to all. What are your plans? We are headed to the mountains for some skiing and to celebrate The Husband's 30th! Pictures to come on Monday.
Images from Google.
Thursday, January 12, 2012
Emerald Nut Run - NYE
Posted by Unknown on 2:20 PM with No comments
Just over a month ago, I mentioned that The Husband and I (more me than him) were going to attempt to run the Emerald Nut Run on New Year's Eve in Central Park. I started training a couple times a week because as many of y'all know, I'm NOT a runner. I even got a swanky new running outfit as to encourage me to get outside and move my legs.
Well, I'm proud to report that I actually did the race and I ran the whole way! All 4 miles. It was awesome.
Not awesome in the sense that I had an epiphany and now run everyday - I do not. But, awesome because the race was at midnight, we got to see fireworks and the ball drop, it was nearly 50 degrees outside and I ran with 10,000 of my closest NYC friends. It was one of those New York moments that makes me fall in love with the city again.
The run was also awesome because I got to dress up. Yes, most people wear something fun to run in. We saw guys in speedos, the Star Wars gang, girls with tutu's and even a couple who dressed up like Prince William and Kate Middleton.
The day of the race I visited the local thrift store and found this little number
I was set.
The Husband also participated in the fun and wore a dress shirt and bow-tie. Cute, eh?
We ran and ran with people cheering and laughing and just having a good time.
If you are in the city over NYE and don't want to go to time square or pay to go to a crowded party, I highly recommend the run. We even popped some bubbly afterwards for our walk home...
Have any of y'all tried it before? I definitely want to do it again.
Well, I'm proud to report that I actually did the race and I ran the whole way! All 4 miles. It was awesome.
Not awesome in the sense that I had an epiphany and now run everyday - I do not. But, awesome because the race was at midnight, we got to see fireworks and the ball drop, it was nearly 50 degrees outside and I ran with 10,000 of my closest NYC friends. It was one of those New York moments that makes me fall in love with the city again.
The day of the race I visited the local thrift store and found this little number
Wednesday, January 11, 2012
I'm here!
Posted by Unknown on 10:10 AM with No comments
Sorry for the delay in blogging, y'all. As my good friend Marisa said recently, I haven't been blogging much! I just got back from a business trip so will start fresh tomorrow. My goal is to post more this year for sure!
Hope everyone is doing well and check back tomorrow for some updates!
Hope everyone is doing well and check back tomorrow for some updates!
Tuesday, January 3, 2012
Christmas Recap
Posted by Unknown on 1:01 PM with No comments
Happy New Year! We had a great time down in NC visiting family over Christmas. Of course the time went by too quickly and now we're back to the grind.
Our first stop was Raleigh. Let me just say that the cousin pups are in love. They spent nearly every moment together, running up and down the stairs and barking (their favorite thing). It was especially hard to break them apart when we left.
Since then, Bailey has been doing a lot of this...
We also celebrated the holidays with my parent's friends (friends of the friendless) which is always a hoot and a half.
On Christmas Eve it was off to grandmothers house for a quick lunch and our typical family portrait on the front stoop (with a couple new members for this one). That's four generations!
Christmas Day we packed up and headed out for Davidson to see The Husband's family. Our two little nephews are so cute and love Christmas time. Here they are showing us their "inner peace." You know, being a kid can be stressful.
We've started a funny Christmas tradition that began last year when we brought them whoopee cushions. They laugh and laugh and make sure that everyone has a turn to with them:) Here's a video that shows their enthusiasm.
It's always so nice to go home and recharge with the ones you love. Thanks to everyone for such a special and fun Christmas!
Up next...New Year's Eve...
Our first stop was Raleigh. Let me just say that the cousin pups are in love. They spent nearly every moment together, running up and down the stairs and barking (their favorite thing). It was especially hard to break them apart when we left.
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
It's always so nice to go home and recharge with the ones you love. Thanks to everyone for such a special and fun Christmas!
Up next...New Year's Eve...
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)





























